Thirty-Five Countries Have Unrestricted Birthright Citizenship

Unrestricted birthright citizenship is attaining citizenship simply by being born in the county. Jus soli is enshrined in the Fourteenth Amendment of the United States Constitution. It is controversial in the U.S.

Several countries offer birthright citizenship but with limitations. For example. Colombia requires that at least one parent be a citizen at the time of the birth.

In all, there are 35 countries across the globe that offer unrestricted citizenship to children born on their territory. Unrestricted means that the status of parents have no bearing on the citizenship of the child.

Map of Countries offering unrestricted birthright citizenship

As you can see from the map, the United States is one of the countries that has unrestricted jus soli.

Almost all of the countries, 29, out of the 35 countries that make up the Americas have unrestricted birthright citizenship. There are six additional countries that have unrestricted jus soli.

They are:

  1. Angola
  2. Fiji
  3. Lesotho
  4. Pakistan
  5. São Tomé and Príncipe
  6. Tanzania

In the Americas, the following six countries do not offer unrestricted birthright citizenship:

  1. Bahamas (at least one parent must be a citizen)
  2. Colombia (at least one parent must be a citizen)
  3. Costa Rica (at least one parent must be citizen)
  4. Haiti (requires one citizen parent)
  5. Dominican Republic, repealed its jus soli clause in 2010 by adding that at least one parent must be a citizen.
  6. Suriname (not in the constitution and subject to changing legislation)

Clearly, unrestricted jus soli is centered in the Americas.

Don't hold back, you know you want to comment, go for it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.